I know not all English Teachers are snobs, and Nell certainly isn’t. But I can’t help but think that a lot of them are. My sister was telling me about her teacher (she’s a high school-er) who was having them talk about characters they liked and admired, but everyone in the class was talking about newer books. She apparently told them they need to talk about “real” books, which I disagree with.

Just because a book isn’t old, or isn’t considered a classic doesn’t mean it isn’t important. Obviously books have a lot of pull, influence, and are simply fun. But my sister’s teacher has on multiple times implied that unless it’s a classic, then it’s not worth reading. Be aware that I got all of this through my sister, so I can’t be sure that it’s exactly true. But I’ve met plenty of English teachers like this. Am I the only one who’s met people like this, please tell me I’m wrong about my generalization. I so wanna be wrong…

 

